Tectonical-geophysical setting of the Caucasus

Lev Eppelbaum*, Boris Khesin

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


Many outstanding geologists such as G. V. Abikh, I. M. Gubkin, V. E. Khain, K. N. Paffenholtz studied the Caucasus. The Caucasus comprises four main morphological and tectonic units (Khain and Koronovsky 1997): (1) the Ciscaucasian plain (Scythian platform), including the foredeeps of the Greater Caucasus; (2) the Greater Caucasus itself, stretching in a WNW-ESE direction; (3) the Transcaucasian system of intermontane basins, and (4) the Lesser Caucasus with its an arcuate N-convex shape and the most heterogeneous structure. This geological division of the Caucasus is traditional, although it is sometimes modified (Fig. 2.1).

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationLecture Notes in Earth System Sciences
PublisherSpringer International Publishing
Number of pages33
StatePublished - 2012

Publication series

NameLecture Notes in Earth System Sciences
ISSN (Print)2193-8571
ISSN (Electronic)2193-858X


Dive into the research topics of 'Tectonical-geophysical setting of the Caucasus'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this