Investigation Protocol for Recurrent Pregnancy Loss

Howard J.A. Carp*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


In the first edition of this book, three guidelines for management of recurrent pregnancy loss (RPL) were compared and contrasted, they were the protocol of the Royal College of Obstetricians (RCOG),1 the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)2 and the European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology (ESHRE).3 The chapter in the first edition showed that each of the guidelines were different with widely differing recommendations. The RCOG guideline has been updated, with the latest edition published in 2011.4 The ESHRE protocol has not been updated, and the ACOG guideline was replaced by the American Society of Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) guideline in 2012.5 In addition, there are Dutch and Danish guidelines available. In the 7 years since the first edition of this book, it was hoped that the various guidelines would have developed a unified approach. Alas, this has not happened, and the guidelines are still very different in their approach to RPL.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationRecurrent Pregnancy Loss
Subtitle of host publicationCauses, Controversies, and Treatment, Second Edition
PublisherCRC Press
Number of pages14
ISBN (Electronic)9781482216158
ISBN (Print)9781482216141
StatePublished - 1 Jan 2014


Dive into the research topics of 'Investigation Protocol for Recurrent Pregnancy Loss'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this